Council Committees and Working Groups

Under the Local Government Act 1995, Council has the power to establish committees of three or more persons to assist the Council and to exercise the powers and discharge the duties of the local government that can be delegated to committees.

All committees continue operating until each Ordinary Council Election Day unless the Council makes a decision to disband the committee at an earlier stage. The Local Government Act outlines how meetings should be conducted and describes the roles of elected members, administration staff and the public. A Guide to Meetings has been published by the Department of Local Government and Communities which details meeting procedures to ensure they are in line with Western Australian legislative requirements and accepted meeting practice.

Our Current Council Committees are:

Audit Committee

The primary objective of the Audit Committee is to accept responsibility for the annual external audit and liaise with the Shire’s Auditor so that Council can be satisfied with the performance of the Shire in managing its financial affairs.

Bush Fire Advisory Committee

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee is in place to provide advice and guidance to Bush Fire Brigades and the community in matters relating to the safe, efficient and effective fire prevention in the Shire of Esperance.

Councils Standing Orders, Code of Conduct and Terms of Reference apply to all Council committee members and can be viewed by clicking on the titles below:

Shire of Esperance Code of Conduct

Standing Orders Local Laws

Council Committee Terms of Reference

The Shire of Esperance Code of Conduct provides elected members, committee members and candidates with consistent guidelines for acceptable standards of professional conduct.

The Terms of Reference document contains terms of reference (including membership) for all of Council’s committees, as well as a list of councillors who have been appointed to working groups and external committees. Council can amend the Terms of Reference for any committee at any time. Any changes will be reflected in the Terms of Reference document as soon as is practicable.

Working Groups

The Shire of Esperance also has various Working Groups which are informal groups that provide support to the Shire on specific topics.

Our current Working Groups are:

Esperance Twin Towns Working Group

This Working Group makes recommendations to Council on developing and fostering the relationship with Ill de Re, France, through the promotion of social, cultural and educational links and a student exchange program.

Further information about this working group can be found here.

Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group

The role of this Working Group is to assist in the development and implementation of the Shire of Esperance’s Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP).

Further information about this working group can be found here.

Museum Working Group

Stakeholders of the Museum are vital in providing advice, knowledge and assistance with projects within the Esperance Museum. This Working Group works with Shire staff to achieve goals and strategies identified in the Esperance Museum Strategic Plan 2017-2023.

Esperance Tourism Stakeholder Working Group

The Esperance Tourism Stakeholder Working Group is in place to provide feedback on progress towards delivery of the Tourism Strategy Implementation Plan and advocate for the Tourism Industry.

Cemetery Working Group

The purpose of the Cemetery Working Group is to provide input and advice on concerns regarding the management of cemeteries under the jurisdiction of the Shire, future planning for cemeteries and on matters related to protecting the heritage of cemeteries and related infrastructure.

Disability Access and Inclusion Working Group

The Disability Access and Inclusion Plan (DAIP) provides the strategic direction and framework for the Shire to improve its services and facilities as well as partnering with the community to achieve progress in this field.

The Disability Access and Inclusion Working Group will assist to develop and review the progress of the annual implementation plan developed from the aims in the DAIP.

Further information on the DAIP can be found here.

Sustainability Working Group

The purpose of the Sustainability Working Group is to promote and support the Shire of Esperance community to achieve environmental sustainability objectives.

The Group will be guided by the goals and strategies identified in the Shire of Esperance Climate Change Declaration and Community Waste Strategy 2018-2023.

The Terms of Reference contains information such as purpose and membership for all Working Groups. Any changes will be reflected in the Terms of Reference document as soon as is practicable.

Working Group Terms of Reference

Working Group Code of Conduct

Expressions of Interest

Expressions of Interest for community members to join committees and working groups are called once Council has reviewed its committees following each Ordinary Council Election Day, and at other times when vacancies arise. If you are interested in sitting on a committee or working group please complete this nomination form and submit it to

External Committees

Council is also represented on several external Committees including:

  • Goldfields-Esperance Country Zone of WALGA, GVROC and GERCG
  • Local Emergency Management Committee
  • Port Development Consultative Committee
  • Regional Road Group
  • Senior Citizens Centre Management Committee
  • Tourism Esperance
  • Regional Capitals Alliance Western Australian 
  • Roadwise