Community Citizen of the Year

Nominations close 31 October

The Community Citizen of the Year Awards profiles leading local citizens who are role models, inspiring us with their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better community. Outstanding contribution and community service include areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

Regard is given to the nominee's achievements in the year immediately prior to the receipt of the Awards, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to their community.

The awards comprise four categories:

  • Community Citizen of the Year (over 16 years)
  • Senior Community Citizen of the Year (65 years or over)
  • Young Community Citizen of the Year (under 25 years)
  • Active Citizenship Award (community group or event)

Anyone can nominate our local citizens for the awards. Please note, nominations have closed for this year.

Further Information including criteria can be found on the Australia Day Council of Western Australia website

Nomination Forms:

Nominations for the Community Citizen of the year awards close 31st October.

Electronic Nomination Form

Paper Nomination Form - Individual

Paper Nomination Form - Group

Paper-based nominations can be collected from the Shire of Esperance Administration building during office hours and can be posted upon request.

Completed paper-based nominations can be returned via email to, hand-delivered to the Administration Building, or posted to the Shire of Esperance.

Enquiries: Executive Services on 9071 0695 or