Skip to main content



You are here

Nominations for Community positions on Council Committees are now open! We are looking for enthusiastic Community members who would like to provide additional input and advice to Council on specific areas or projects.

Please read more about the Committees and how to nominate below.

Audit Committee: One Community Representative

The primary objective of the Audit Committee is to accept responsibility for the annual external audit and liaise with the Shire’s Auditor so Council can be satisfied with the performance of the Shire in managing its financial affairs.

Esperance Museum Management Committee: One Community Representative

Stakeholders of the Museum are vital in providing advice, knowledge and assistance with projects within the Esperance Museum. This Reference Group works with Shire staff to achieve goals and strategies identified in the Esperance Museum Strategic Plan 2017-2023.

Esperance Twin Towns Committee: Five Community Representatives

This Committee makes recommendations to Council on developing and fostering the relationship with Ill de Re, France, through the promotion of social, cultural and educational links and the student exchange program.

Esperance Roadwise Committee: Two Community Representatives

The Roadwise Committee contributes to a coordinated approach to reduce the amount of road trauma in our region through a number of community initiatives and awareness campaigns.

Greater Sports Ground Redevelopment Committee: Four Community Representatives

The Redevelopment Committee makes recommendations to Council regarding the development and implementation of the Greater Sports Ground Redevelopment Plan.

Scaddan Restoration Reference Group: Six Community Representatives

The primary objective of the Scaddan Restoration Reference Group is to provide options and priorities for Council’s consideration in the restoration of Community infrastructure in the Scaddan townsite. The proposed works will need to include a bush fire brigade shed, post boxes and a potential replacement for the Scaddan Hall. The group will take into consideration the budget available, legislative constraints and the needs of the broader community.

Esperance Visitor Centre Management Committee: Three Community Representatives

The role of this Management Committee is to provide strategic direction for the management, development and operation of the Esperance Visitor Centre consistent with the policies, plans, and budgets endorsed by the Shire of Esperance.

New Landfill Community Reference Group: Four Community Representatives

The Reference Groups priorities are to assist the Shire in gaining all required environmental approvals and provide input into a detailed design of a modern waste management facility with the view to minimise impact on the surrounding landowners and environment.

Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group: Number of Community Representatives to be determined

The role of this Working Group is to assist in the development and implementation of the Shire of Esperance’s Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP).

Youth Advisory Council (YAC): Fifteen Community Representatives (between ages 12-25)

The YAC is used as a consultation group to provide guidance to the Shire regarding the changing needs of youth in Esperance.

Members of the YAC are also responsible for delivery of youth focused projects, programs and events in Esperance.

Committee Information

If you’d like to read more about a specific committee you can read the Terms of Reference, which includes the Committee’s Membership and Designated Powers & Duties, online here. Appointed Committee Members are bound by the Shire’s Code of Conduct and must conduct themselves in line with the Standing Orders Local Law 2015. Positions are appointed for a two-year period as per the Terms of Reference.

Hard copies of the above documents can be requested from the Shire Administration Building on Windich Street.

Nomination Information

If you would like to nominate, please fill out this form and email to, post to PO Box 507 or drop it off at the Administration Building on Windich Street.

Nominations close at 4pm on Wednesday, 8 January 2020.

For further information, contact the Governance Team on 9071 0666.