Skip to main content

Community Citizen of the Year


You are here

Community Citizen of the Year

Each year our community celebrates the positive contribution of our citizens who are worthy of the community’s attention.

We are currently seeking Nominations for the Community Citizen of the year awards.

Nominations are open from the 1st September until 31st October 2020.

Anyone can nominate our local citizens for the awards.

The Community Citizen of the Year Awards profiles leading local citizens who are role models who inspire us with their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better community. Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

Regard is given to nominees achievements in the year immediately prior to the receipt of the Awards, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to their community.

The awards comprise four categories:

  • Community Citizen of the Year (over 16 years)

  • Senior Community Citizen of the Year (65 years or over)

  • Young Community Citizen of the Year (under 25 years)

  • Active Citizenship Award (community group or event)

Further Information including criteria can be found at the Australia Day Council of Western Australia website

Nomination Forms:

Electronic Nomination Form

Paper-Based Nomination Form 

Paper-based nominations can be collected from the Shire of Esperance Administration building during office hours and can be posted upon request.

Completed paper-based nominations can be returned via email to, hand-delivered to the Administration Building or posted to the Shire of Esperance.

Enquiries: Rebecca Seinor, Community Develpment Officer on 9071 0678 or