Skip to main content

Christmas Retail Trading

Menu

You are here

Christmas Retail Trading

Permanent Christmas trading hours were introduced in 2014 to benefit local businesses and shoppers by providing long-term certainty.

A copy of the gazettal of the change can be found here, with the actual opening hours this results in for the coming Christmas period below.

In addition to the permanent Christmas Trading hours in the lead-up to Christmas contained within the gazettal, a temporary (one-off) approval to increase trading hours this year following Christmas has also been received, with these hours also being included in the table below.

Sunday 12th December 2021  10am to 4 pm
Monday 13th December 2021  normal trading hours
Tuesday 14th December 2021              normal trading hours
Wednesday 15th December 2021  normal trading hours
Thursday 16th December 2021 normal trading hours
Friday 17th December 2021  8am to 9pm
Saturday 18th December 2021  normal trading hours
Sunday 19th December 2021  10am to 4pm
Monday 20th December 2021  8am to 9pm
Tuesday 21st December 2021  8am to 9pm
Wednesday 22nd December 2021  8am to 9pm
Thursday 23rd December 2021  normal trading hours
Friday 24th December 2021  normal trading hours
Saturday 25th December 2021  Closed (Christmas Day)
Sunday 26th  December 2021  10am to 4pm
Monday 27th December 2021 

10am to 4pm

Tuesday 28th December 2021  10am to 4pm
Wednesday 29th December 2021  normal trading hours
Thursday 30th December 2021  normal trading hours
Friday 31st December 2021  normal trading hours
Saturday 1st January 2022  10am to 4pm
Sunday 2nd January 2022  10am to 4pm
Monday 3rd January 2022  10am to 4pm

It is important to note that these are the hours that retailers can be open however retailers are not required to open. Additionally, those businesses that hold a ‘Small Retail Shop Certificate’ can trade 24 hours a day, every day of the year.